I’m thankful even when I’m irritated.

Seems like everywhere I look on Facebook and WordPress, people are publishing their “thankfulness” lists for the year.  So I guess this is mine.  <deep sigh indicating lack of enthusiasm).

Today of all days, I’m tired, I’m cranky, and my overall mood is really in the toilet.  In spite of it all, I can think of a million things in my life that I’m thankful for.  Here are just a few:

1)  First and foremost, I’m thankful for my Father in Heaven and the gift of His Son, Jesus Christ.  Without Him, I am nothing.

2)  I’m thankful for my family.  I was blessed late in life with a God-fearing, hard working, kind, considerate, loving husband that I adore. More importantly, he loves me back, mood swings and all.  And today those moods are swinging.  But, I digress….I’m thankful for a mother who is and has always been one of my very best friends.  I treasure our relationship more than even she knows.  I’m thankful for my children and my grandchild.  They bring much joy to our lives and keep me laughing even when I don’t feel like it.  My little brother (who isn’t so little anymore) is still my buddy after all these years. He keeps in touch even when I get busy and forget, and he’s always a listening ear when I need it.  Not that he doesn’t still drive me nuts sometimes…..but I digress again….My older brother is much more distant, but out of sight does not mean out of mind. He’s proven time and time again that when things go all pear-shaped, he’ll be there.  I’m also blessed with an extended family that I cherish, even if we don’t see each other very often anymore.

3)  I’m thankful for our farm, the animals that sustain us, and even the poop I spend my life shoveling.  Our place is small, and there’s always straw on the carpet and pine shavings behind the sofa cushions, but it’s ours and it’s home.  It’s warm in the winter, even warmer in the summer, and always a happy place to come home to.

4) I’m mega-thankful for my big, floppy eared, slobber-slinging, mastiff pup.  We bonded early, and Murph is like my second son.  It’s weird, but I don’t care.  He goes where I go, and generally sticks to me like glue.  People run away when they see us because he’s big and looks scary, but he’s got a heart of gold and won’t hurt anyone who doesn’t try to hurt his momma.

5) Last, but certainly not least, I’m thankful for friends. My best friend has been a constant in my life for 38 years.  Others come and go, but I enjoy them while they’re here.  They’ve taught me a lot over the years about compassion, patience, and sacrifice.  I wouldn’t be me without having known them.

There you have it.  My duty is done, and yes, I’m still cranky, but it’s nothing a fresh hormone patch and glass of wine won’t fix.  Time to get chores done and get ready to eat myself into a coma tomorrow.  From our family to yours, have a blessed Thanksgiving!

Image

About Denise E.

Head chicken farmer, goat-milker, sheep-shearer, gardener, cheese-maker and full time caregiver to my 93 year old father in law. The pay sucks, but the benefits are priceless. www.sparrowsnestfarm.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Murphy, Rants, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m thankful even when I’m irritated.

  1. tbnranch says:

    Thanks for the follow and introducing me to your blog! Reading your blog I think we are a lot alike!

  2. Janine says:

    What a beautiful post… You have an amazing beautiful life. I am thankful to have you, your husband, your father in-law, murphy and your farm of critters that make me smile and fill my heart with joy and love.
    Happy Thanksgiving my dear friend!

  3. Gratitude knows no hormonal bounds! Good on you for powering through it. I loved your list.

Leave a Reply

