Christmas…done! (part 1, anyway)

Wow, more than two weeks have passed since my last post.  So much for good intentions.  It’s been a mad rush to get ready for the Christmas holidays, plus I got sick right in the middle of it all.  How I caught a head cold when I rarely get out around people is beyond me, but somehow I did, and it was a doozy.  Anyway, at long last the coughing and sneezing are behind me, and in spite of feeling subpar, I actually managed to enjoy myself when family started arriving.

Our daughter and her family are here from Georgia, and our grandson had the best time visiting the farm.  He just turned two, and he had a look of pure joy on his face every time he was around the animals. Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He adored the goats, and the barn was his favorite place to be.  Image

Even the chickens got their fair share of attention!

Image

But what he loved most of all was playing on the goats playground equipment.  He loved it so much, he got a little irate when someone got in his way!Image

His Poppy has spoiled him rotten while he’s here.  He even went so far as to make him some Santa bread.  It turned out really cute, but it was way too dry…blegh….the chickens will be getting this one.  Next time I think we’ll try a pastry recipe instead of a standard bread recipe and see if it turns out better.  But it’s definitely picture worthy anyway.Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even the goats got into the Christmas spirit.  I took two of them to church for the live nativity that we did during the Christmas Eve service.  It turned out really cute, and the kids loved it, but I hope we don’t do it again because I had to sit out in the hall with them the entire service because they screamed bloody murder when I left them.  This is the only picture that turned out half way decent because once the kids came up on stage, they were in constant motion (and so were the goats), and the other shots are all blurry.  It was great fun though!Image

Overall, it’s been a great Christmas so far, and we still have more to come.  My son will be home tomorrow, so we’re going to do everything all over again on Saturday.  Our whole family will be here for our official Christmas dinner (complete with a ham and a goose), and we’ll finishing opening the rest of the presents that are still under the tree.

I hope everyone out there had a blessed Christmas! Stay tuned for part 2 of ours coming up soon!

About Denise E.

Head chicken farmer, goat-milker, sheep-shearer, gardener, cheese-maker and full time caregiver to my 93 year old father in law. The pay sucks, but the benefits are priceless. www.sparrowsnestfarm.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Chickens, Goats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas…done! (part 1, anyway)

  1. jm5267 says:

    These are pricelrss. Lucas is so cute

  2. Kendra says:

    All the pics are great… Glad you had a great Christmas

Leave a Reply

